Facebook, you don’t understand

Started writing: 31 Dec 2016, NYC time
Finished composing: 12 Jan 2017, 9.13 am NYC time
Date published online: 15 Feb 2016, 1.15 am NYC time

 

Facebook I don’t understand
Why you keep insisting that he’s my friend?
Stop suggesting that he’s in my photos
Or he’s with me whenever I post

It’s a photo of three dark skinned women
He’s a man, and the colour of white linen
And when I’m trying to message somebody
Stop assuming he’s my “favourite” buddy!

The other day, you got even weirder
You suggested I was with his father
I haven’t even met the man
And we’re definitely not Facebook friends

I saw you thought I should friend his sister
I’ll tell you now – that would be a disaster!
Your information – it’s just inaccurate
Or at the very least, it’s dated

It’s true, once we were more than friends
He probably was my favourite man
But that was quite a while ago
These days, we don’t speak anymore

In fact, he deleted me off snapchat
Though I’m not quite sure what he’s so mad at
He stopped following my instagram
So Facebook, you better get with the program

I’ll let you in on a little secret
Though I’m suprised, you haven’t worked it out yet
He told me very explicitly
He wants nothing to do with me

I figure he’s unfollowed me on Facebook
And on his page, I don’t look
So please, stop trying to force this friendship
‘Cause we’ve both accepted, this was a bad relationship

Leave a Reply

