Her chatter

Date written: 30 Dec 2016, 1.45 am NYC time
Date published online: 22 Jan 2016, 5.24 pm NYC time

We’re similar in a lot of ways
Same laugh, same voice, same face
But one thing, really, there’s no way
‘Cause she has way more to say

She’s stringing 20 sentences a second
It’s hard to keep paying attention
I don’t need a play-by-play of what happened
Just summarise it, oh good heavens!

I’ve barely gotten out of bed
It’s too early to decipher what’s said
How is she so chirpy so early?
Please, shhh…until I get my coffee

Don’t get me wrong, I like conversation
A good story requires narration
But when there’s too many details to hear
I can’t help but switch off my ears

When I was young, people said I was quiet
Thought growing up brought out my extravert
But I think it was just relative
Literally, relative to my relative

I love her, I really do love her
Though I sometimes tune out to her chatter
She brings me much joy and much laughter
She’s one of a kind, my sister

Leave a Reply

